Levee Districts

Currently there are 24 levee districts within the State. The Public Works and Water Resources Section provides engineering support and coordination for the eight (8) non-coastal levee districts in northern Louisiana. These services include planning, designing, and, providing advice on operation and maintenance of a multitude of levees, canals, and structures constructed with local funds. Coordination of the activities of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in the conduct of similar services for such flood control works installed within the levee districts with Federal funds is alsopart of the program's responsibilities. In addition, engineering and surveying support for acquisition of the required rights-of-way for such construction regardless of the source of construction funds, is also provided to the levee districts. The eight (8) non-coastal levee districts include:
  • Red River, Atchafalaya and Bayou Boeuf Levee District (RRABB)
  • Nineteenth Louisiana Levee District
  • Natchitoches Levee and Drainage District
  • Red River Levee District
  • Caddo Levee District
  • Bossier Levee District
  • Tensas Levee District
  • Fifth Louisiana Levee District
Levee District contact information can be obtained from the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana (ALBL) website.